Ladies Competitions Update

Margaret Simpson Tuesday 20 September 2016
Congratulations go to Anne Kilby who won with a solid 35 Stableford points from Rachel Miller on 34 points and Carol Smalley also with 34.

Ladies EG Medal Tuesday 13 September 2016
In hot and humid conditions Rachel Miller returned a solid score of nett 71 (91-20) to win the medal competition and the Gold Medal.  Joze Henderson came a creditable second with nett 75 from Joanne Barradell in third place with nett 76 (90-14).  Rachel and Doreen Horspool qualify to play in the Gold Medal in 2017.

Hepworth Cup Tuesday 6 September 2016
Congratulations go to  Hayley Smith who emerged ahead of the field with score of +1.  Kerry Variava was second on level par and Angela Lane was third with -1.

Pidduck Trophies Tuesday 29 August 2016
Congratulations go to Sarah Haslum and Julie Wells who qualified to play in the Daily Mail Foursomes following their impressive win in the Pidduck Trophies with an excellent nett 69.  Ann Hincks and Hayley Smith came second with a solid nett 72.

Lady Captain's Day  Tuesday 23 August 2016
What a glorious warm and sunny day for Rachel Miller to return a solid 35 points to win with Sarah Haslum in second place, on count back and with best gross score, also with 35 points.  Alison Groom won the Silver prize and Christine Sharp won the Bronze One prize, both with 34 points, and Hayley Smith won the Bronze Two prize with 31.   Nearest to the pin winners were: 1st Carol Wild, 5th Sarah Haslum, 15th Carol Dawson.  The longest drive on 17th was Carol Wild.

Rye Cup Tuesday 16 August 2016
The warm summer weather inspired Kate Hammond to victory with a solid nett 73 (87 - 14).  Carol Jack followed close behind in second place with nett 74 (101 - 27) with Hayley Smith in third with nett 75 (110 - 35).

EG Medal and Past Captain's Trophy  Tuesday 9 August 2016
Congratulation go to Margot Lawrence who won the medal competition and the the Past Captains' Trophy with a solid nett 71 (90 - 19).  Morag Harding came second with  nett 73 (97 - 24) and also qualified for the Gold Medal ahead of Joanne Smith in third place with nett 75 (96 - 21).

Deacon Salver  Fleet Vase  Brunton Cup  Tuesday 26 July 2016
Qualifying for the Ladies Championships took place on a fine summers day with Suzanne Pretty, Tina Rumming and Emma Watson all returning gross scores of 88.  Emma and Tina play off in the semi final and the winner will play Suzanne, who receives a bye, in the final.  Joanne Barradell (85 - 15 = 70) and Kate Hammond (86 - 14 = 72) meet in the Fleet Vase play off and Ann Hincks (108 - 29 = 79) and Marietta Kershaw (110 - 26 = 84) will contest the Brunton Cup. 

Florida Scramble Tuesday 19 July 2016
The conditions resembled and humid.... as the Ladies took to the course.  Congratulations go to Gill Youngs, Joanne Barradell and Alison Davie who won with a score of 71.875 from Rita Bates, Christine Watson and Sylvia Armson in second place with 73.375.

Yellow Peril Tuesday 12 July 2016
The 'Yellow Peril' was won this year by Julie Bowler, Rita Bates and Lil Walker with a solid score of 68 points from the team of Doreen Horspool, Morag Harding and Margot Lawrence who claimed second spot on count back  from to other teams also with 66 points.

Gwynne Davis Cup Tuesday 28 June 2016
Dry conditions in the morning were followed by rain in the afternoon, but this did not stop Rachel Miller returning a solid score of 72 (95-23) to win from Pat Haslam on 73 (86-13) and Kerry Variava on 75 (100-25).  Rachel and Pat both qualify to play in the Gold Cup.

Ping Competition Tuesday 21 June 2016
Congratulations go to Rachel Miller and Alison Groom who returned an excellent better ball score of 41 to win from Sue Black and Alison Davie on 40.  Kerry Variava and Jo Smith took third place with 36 points.  

Hunt Wells Trophy Tuesday 14 June 2016
Not all the ladies taking part got wet, but it wasn't the best day for golf, however it did not stop Joanne Barradell and Alison Davie from returning an impressive score of nett 65 to win from Kerry Variava and Joanne Smith with nett 71 and Ann Hinks and Helen Smith also with nett 71.

Ladies EG Medal Tuesday 7 June 2016
Kerry Variava continues her impressive form with an excellent 67 (95 - 28) to win from Julie Bowler with 73 (82 - 9) who came second on count back from Kate Hammond also with 73 (87 - 14). 

Chapman Cup Tuesday 24 May 2016
Congratulations go to Kerry Variava who posted the winning score of 72 (102 - 30).  Sylvia Armson came in second with 75 (95 - 20) on count back from Rachel Miller in third place also with 75 (98 - 23).  Margot Lawrence took fourth spot with 76 (94 - 18).

Ladies Single Stableford  Tuesday 17 May 2016
The weather stayed fine to see Rachel Miller return an impressive score of 40 points to win from Sue Ward and Carol Devonport both  on 34 points.

Anderson Cup/Grannies Bowl Tuesday 10 May 2016
The  rain came down for most of the day making the course particularly difficult.  This was reflected in the scores, however Sarah Haslum battled through to win on count back from Kerry Variava and Chris Sharp.  All three ladies achieved 30 Stableford points.  The winner of the Grannies Bowl was Chris Sharp.

Walmsley Wootton Trophies Tuesday 3 May 2016
Congratulations go to Suzanne Pretty and Julie Bowler who returned a fine 33 points in trying conditions to win  the Walmsley Wootton Trophies Foursomes Stapleford from Alison Groom and Rachel Miller with 30 and Jenny Chambers and Ann Todd also with 30.

Young Cup, Briggs Broadbent and EG Medal Tuesday 26 April 2016
The weather wasn't kind with sunshine, snow and hail showers, however Joanne Smith conquered the conditions to win the Broadbent Higgs (94-22 nett 72) from Rachel Miller (103-29 nett 74) in second place.  Joy Robinson won the Young Cup (104-30 nett 74) with Doreen Horspool (105-25 nett 79) second.  Joanne Smith was the EG Medal winner and Joanne Smith and Joy Robinson qualified to play in the Gold Medal. 

Ladies Spring AmAm  Tuesday 19 April 2016
The early spring sunshine made the start of the ladies competition season a delight to play in.  Kate Hammond, Pat Haslam, Alison Groom and Rachel Miller won with a commendable 82 Stableford points.  Chris Sharp, Irene Moody, Margaret Chilvers and Gilly Higgins came second with 79.