Competitions Update 2018

Wagg Bowl Sunday 1 July 2018
As the sun beat down and the course tinder dry, congratulations go to Andy Harding and Mark Lawrence who secured the trophy with a fine foursomes score of 72.5.  Don Murray and Ron Henson came a creditable second with 73.5 and Simon Whitaker and Chris Chambers took third place with 74.5.

Professional's Day for Men Saturday 16 June 2018
It was a little cooler, with occasional light rain showers, but with the course in great condition again a large field took to the course.   Alan Scott rose to the challenge to win with an excellent  42 points with Shaun Wiggins close behind in second place on 40 points and Kevin Stanley in third place also with 40.  Jake Croshaw took the best gross prize with a fine one under par 71, Best Senior was Sherod Winterton, Nearest to the pin prizes were won by 1st: Chris Mee, 5th: Kevin Whittle, 15th: Pritesh Chandarana and Longest Drive on 17 was Oli Willson.

Sturton Cup Wednesday 13 June 2018
On a fine sunny day with the course well prepared and  in good condition congratulations go to Nick Moore who returned a brilliant nett 65 (84 - 19) to win from James Pretty with the lowest gross score of 1 under par 71, nett 67, in second place, and Brian Armitage in third place with nett 69 (85 - 16).

Spears/DeLisle  Saturday 2 June 2018
On another fine day Harry Coe won the Spears Cup with a fine nett 68 (72 - 4) which included two birdies and an eagle 3 on the par5 17th.  James Littlewood took second place with nett 69 (77 - 8) and Chris Cooper took third place also with nett 69 (81 - 12).  Andy Harding won the gross prize with level par 72 which included three birdies and an eagle 2 on the 6th hole.

Shaun Taylor won the De Lisle with a solid nett 69 (95 - 26).  Trevor Todd came second with nett 70 (88 - 18) and also won best gross.  Stephen Preston took third place with nett 73 (91 - 18) = 73.  Congratulations go to all!!

Midweek Rollup Stableford Wednesday 30 May 2018
Although the weather conditions were not the best in the morning congratulations go to David Gould who won with a solid 39 points from Ian Preston in second place with 37 and  Graham Johnson in third on 36.

Victory Cup Saturday 26 May 2018
Congratulations go to Jake Croshaw, who carded 5 birdies in his round of 2 under par 70, to win with 41 points.In second place was Tony Campbell with 40 points on count back from Scott Middleton also with 40 points.

Dixon Armstrong Saturday 19 May 2018
Congratulations go to Andrew Rumming who won the Dixon Cup with a fine nett 69 (80-11).  Gus Younger came second with a creditable nett 70 (84-14) on count back from Simon Glover, also with nett 70 (76-60.  The best gross score of one over par 73  was returned by Mark Lawrence.  The Armstrong Cup was won by Dave Bonner with best gross 89, nett 70 (89-19), second was Robert Hamilton nett 71 (97-26) and third place was secured by  Garner Roberts with nett 72 (91-19).

Help the Aged  Wednesday 16 May 2018
The weather was dull, cool and very breezy, which was reflected in the 75 standard scratch, however congratulations go to Joe Slater who returned a solid nett 70, and the best gross score of 75, to win on count back from Paul Argument also with nett 70 (85 - 15).  Shaun Wiggins was third with nett 73 (81 - 8).   Div 2 winner was Paul Argument and Div 3 winner was Mike Davis with nett 74 (95 - 21).

McFarlane Tankards  Monday 7 May 2018
Bank Holiday Monday and no rain in sight..... in fact wall to wall sunshine encouraged David Brown and Craig Osborn to victory with a great score of +9.  Sean Creeney and Joe Hudson came in second with +8 followed by Scott Middleton and Kev Marshall in third place with +6.

Coalville Cup Saturday 5 May 2018
Summer arrived.....none to soon.....for a packed field to enjoy the course and rise to the challenge.  Congratulations go to Paul Reed and Gaz Titterton who won with an impressive better ball medal score of nett 64 from Wilf Weighill and Joe Hudson in second place also with nett 64.   Mel King and Mark Lawrence came a creditable third with nett 65.

Midweek Roll Up Stableford  Wednesday 25 April 2018
With the course in good condition and still a challenge Garry Cresswell returned a solid 37 points to win on count back from Andy Dearden also with  37.  Simon Glover took third and Philip Wood fourth, both scoring 35 points.    

National PGA Qualifier  Saturday 21 April 2018
The course was showing the first signs of spring and in excellent condition following the recent wet weather, and proved a tough challenge from the back tees.  Five golfers returned nett scores of 71 with Alan Scott (90 - 19) coming out on top.  Harry Worden (80 - 9) was second, Jerry Brown came third (79 - 8), Dave Wilkinson (77 - 6) came fourth and in fifth place was Mark Lawrence(73 - 2).  The Best Gross Prize was won by Ollie Willson with 72.  Division winners were Harry Worden, Kyle Bentley (86 - 14 = 72) and Alan Scott.

Jerry Brown qualified for the PGA Pro Am and will partner David Mee in the next round.

Stockhall Trophy Greensomes Stableford  Saturday 7 April 2018
The weather stayed dry...almost...and although a bit sticky in places, the course had recovered well from the midweek rain for the first men's comp of the year.  Congratulations go to winners Graham Moody and Lee Griffin, who returned an impressive  42 points. Simon Whittaker and Gary West came second with 41 on count back from Rob Docherty and Nick Howlett also with 41.  Matthew Vann and Lee Southall were fourth with 40.